Behind the Camera

david-with-tripod

This is a guest post written by my husband, David. He usually is the one taking all the gorgeous pictures I use, but on this day, he shared some more- and I loved reading it!  🙂 

I have always loved cameras.  From a young age, I began playing with my parents’ and grandparents’ 35mm film cameras.  There was something magical about pressing a button and having the image stored (somewhat) permanently onto film.

I am old enough to remember several generations of cameras…  35 mm, Polaroid (wait, you mean you can see the picture now??!), zoom cameras with film, and finally digital!

I’ll skip the boring details, but I never would have dreamed that I would have the photography equipment that I have today.  Somewhere in the daily routine of life though, I have forgotten what it means to be a child.  I have forgotten what it is like to do something for the first time, and be awestruck by the simplest things.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love taking pictures, and experiencing the ‘magic’ of pressing a button and having an image show up.  But somewhere in worrying about the best Shutter Speed, Aperture, ISO, White Balance, Raw vs JPEG, Sharpness, Clarity, Color Balance, Chromatic Aberrations, Black and White, Sepia…. Blah Blah Blah…. I have forgotten the simplicity.

Just look at the pictures below, and the expression on our daughter’s face as I handed her my old camera for the first time.  She loved it. She walked around taking pictures of everything… just like I did.  She was full of joy, glee, excitement, and enjoyment!

I am afraid that this is how we have become with God also.  Somewhere in the daily routines of life…. Work, Laundry, Dinner, TV, Movies, Things Breaking… blah blah blah, we have forgotten what it means to be excited about God.  We have forgotten what it means to listen to a bedtime devotional and learn how good God is, and how much we need him.  I am too content being anxious for tomorrow than I am learning and becoming closer to Him.

“Simplicity” from Rend Collective (OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO)

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

1 Peter 5:7

My prayer the rest of this week is that I am able to rest in Him and forget the cares of this world, and that I am able to fully enjoy the blessings He has given me.


Leave a comment